A Deserving Bitch

Posted: March 9, 2013 by Sister Trinity in Twitter Hate
Tags: , , , , ,

I recently tweeted a link to a poem of mine on my blog. The poem has the title The Time I Saw A Man Who Raped Me, and that’s exactly what it’s about. It’s also about the rape itself and about the effect it has had on me. I posted it on the hashtag #Radfem2013, which is a radical feminist conference I plan on attending and which draws a considerable number of really nasty and persistent haters on Twitter.

I knew that people who hate me for my political views would see something extremely personal, and I posted it anyway. Perhaps because I had some sort of trust that they couldn’t possibly be so hateful as to use this particular tweet of mine (it is by far not the only on the hashtag) to harass me? Haha! Of course not. Rather because I was pretty certain that nothing they could say or do about it could get to me. I started a blog and I posted a poem about being raped. Obviously I’m not trying to hide, I’m not scared of public attention being directed my way.

And attention came my way, of course.

Enter self-proclaimed feminist "Lindsey Spilman" with a thinly-veiled threat

Enter self-proclaimed feminist “Lindsey Spilman” with a thinly-veiled threat

As you can see, I took a screenshot immediately, and I recommend you do the same when someone sends you threats and other nasty things. This tweet was deleted within a very short time, presumably when our friend Linds was reasonably sure I’d seen it. (Check out this website to learn how to take screenshots on various devices and operating systems)

LS2

Presented with a public accusation in the form of a screenshot: the tired old “humor” response

I'm a bitch deserving of crushing. High praise from a misogynist indeed.

I’m a bitch deserving of crushing. High praise from a misogynist indeed.

Demonizing/dehumanizing me, expressing desire for me to be hurt/dead.

Demonizing/dehumanizing me, expressing desire for me to be hurt/dead.

Nobody was talking about transwomen before this. At least I wasn't.

Some ‘feminist’, huh? Also *I* never said anything about trans

ADB1

“I command destruction of her very essence” – Ah, only on the Internet!

A second person, also supposedly a feminist, shows up to tell me I am evil and deserve to be raped, disbelieved and mocked

A second person, also supposedly a feminist, shows up to tell me I am evil and deserve to be raped, disbelieved and mocked — if only I’d at least accepted that “apology”, right?

And then, many hours later…

I can't believe Lindsey managed to refrain from swearing at me!

I can’t believe Lindsey managed to refrain from swearing at me!

I’ve seen enough of the messages “Lindsey” has sent others, both like-minded people and ‘enemies’, to not be impressed by this last tweet. Even before the above episode, I happened to have seen some tweets in which “Lindsey” was boasting about having hurt others with words.

ADB5

Confessions of an Internet troll

Yeah, Lindsey, you're totally a lesbian feminist. If words stop meaning things.

Yeah, Lindsey, you’re totally a lesbian feminist. If words stop meaning things.

So, “Lindsey”, you like the attention, it seems. You’ve had lots of attention from me now, let’s leave it at that.

Feminist is as feminist does. Calling for the destruction of people you disagree with politically and trying to ‘crush’ them with slurs, threats and hatefulness is called being a violent fuckhead, not a feminist.

If you too have received messages from a womanhating fuckhead, you know what to do: take a screenshot or document it in some other way and send it to us at hatemale [at] hushmail dot com together with any commentary you might have.

@SisterTrinity

Comments
  1. Anne says:

    Thanks for posting that screenshot website!
    Solidarity!

  2. HS says:

    WTF!!!! I can’t believe how cruel people can be to each other and how they can laugh at another’s suffering. This world is overrun with psychopaths and secondary psychopaths, bullies of all kinds.
    I’m sorry you are the target of such hate.

    • Thank you, HS. I’m sorry too…mostly for those who aren’t as resilient or as lucky as I am. Lives can be ruined by cruel words. The person at the receiving end of such attacks could already be on the verge of a breakdown. We need more compassion and caring in this world — especially for those who have already been victims of male violence, as male violence continues to be normalized and excused.

  3. doublevez says:

    Did you send a report to Twitter?

    • Actually I didn’t. It didn’t really occur to me at the time, possibly because the last times I reported some seriously abusive (extremely graphic) tweets, it was apparently just ignored.

  4. UK Feminist says:

    OMG. Just stunned. Only just seen this. Sister, I’m sorry you had to suffer in this way from these sick and violent ‘people’. Solidarity x

Leave a Reply

